Plateau de Californie

Back to the list
Le Plateau de Californie
Tour observatoire du plateau de Californie(2)
Tour observatoire du plateau de Californie
Tour observatoire du plateau de Californie(1)

The California Plateau in the heart of the Chemin des Dames is, like Verdun, an emblematic place of the First World War. However, it has long been associated with the bitter failure of the Nivelle offensive of April 1917, with the mutinies that followed and with the break-up of the summer of 1918, and was doomed after the First World War to a process of occultation.
Before 1914, this plateau, located above the old village of Craonne, was already a place for walking.
After the war, pine trees were planted on this red zone, as the land was no longer suitable for cultivation. And since 2013, a tower-observatory freely accessible will allow you to embrace the plain at more than 25 meters height…


  • Outdoor site, open to the public year-round, at any hour. There are 2 monuments to visit on-site: - one in memory of the soldiers of the 18th IR on a former German concrete shelter. - one in memory of those who fought in any war, “They did not get to chose their burial place” inaugurated in 1998.
  • Services :
    • Free car park
  • Clientèle :
    • Young public

Localisation

RD 18 CD, 02160 CRAONNE

Revenir en haut de page
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Plateau de Californie

Retour à la liste
Le Plateau de Californie
Sylvain Prémont
Tour observatoire du plateau de Californie(2)
Sylvain Prémont
Tour observatoire du plateau de Californie
Sylvain Prémont
Tour observatoire du plateau de Californie(1)
Sylvain Prémont

Le Plateau de Californie au coeur du Chemin des Dames est, tout comme Verdun, un lieu emblématique de la Première Guerre mondiale. Pourtant, il a longtemps été associé à l'échec cuisant de l'offensive Nivelle d'avril 1917, aux mutineries qui ont suivi et à la rupture de l'été 1918, et voué après la Première Guerre à un processus d'occultation.

Avant 1914, ce plateau, situé au-dessus de l’ancien village de Craonne, était déjà un lieu de promenade.

Après-guerre, des pins ont été plantés sur cette zone rouge, le terrain n’étant plus cultivable. Et depuis 2013, une tour-observatoire librement accessible vous permettra d'embrasser la plaine à plus de 25 mètres de hauteur…


  • Site en extérieur, accès libre à toute heure toute l'année. A noter 2 monuments à voir sur place : - celui édifié à la mémoire des soldats du 18e RI sur un ancien abri bétonné allemand. - celui érigé à la mémoire des combattants de toutes les guerres, « Ils n’ont pas choisi leurs sépultures » inauguré en 1998...
  • Services :
    • Parking gratuit
  • Clientèle :
    • Jeune public
    • Passionnés d'histoire

Localisation

RD 18 CD, 02160 CRAONNE

Revenir en haut de page
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.